Puppy & Kitten season is coming soon! Joy Drawdy

Click here to explore the Earth Pets website

 

“Puppy and kitten season”. When I wrote that subject line I realized it could sound like some really great event;  we all love puppies & kittens, right?  And there’s a season for them?  Great!  Count me in! 🙂

But the truth is, puppy and kitten season is a very sad time of year for those of us who provide care for unwanted animals in Alachua County.  It happens every year in the springtime;  suddenly litter upon litter of unwanted or orphaned puppies and kittens begin flooding our county shelter & other rescue groups in the community. The spring influx of puppies and kittens presents many challenges for shelters and rescue groups – resources are often stretched to the limit as local organizations and good Samaritans struggle to provide food, medical care and foster or adoptive homes for hundreds of unwanted litters during puppy & kitten season.  Tragically, many of these springtime babies never make it to see the happy ending they so deserved –  orphans die before they can be rescued or arrive at the shelter too sick to be saved.

As the owner of Earth Pets Organic Feed & Garden, I feel an extra sense of duty to help homeless animals in Gainesville.  After all, I make a living selling pet food & supplies to the families of the most fortunate of pets in my community; I feel I owe it to the less fortunate of pets to share what I can to help create a better world for them.

So, as springtime approaches, I’ve been thinking of ways I can use my success at Earth Pets to help prevent some of the suffering and sadness that happens every spring when our community is overburdened by too many unwanted litters.   And since the easiest way to prevent unwanted litters is to spay/neuter as many pets as possible – I figured I should be helping do that.   So, I am pledging to pay the full cost of one dog spay and one cat spay each month between now and Spring 2011.

Through April, 2011 I am going to write two checks each month (one for a dog spay and one for a cat spay) as a targeted donation From Earth Pets to Operation Petsnip in Gainesville.  The reason I chose Operation Petsnip is because, in addition to low-cost spay/neuter and awareness campaigns, they also have a program that provides free services to needy families who want to get their pet spayed/neutered but just can’t afford it.  I like that.

I know that just a handful of spay donations from one little pet supply store isn’t going to solve the pet overpopulation problem in our community – and I’m certain we’ll still be busy helping each other out with unwanted puppies & kittens this spring – but I know that every little bit I can do will help.  To prevent even just one litter of puppies or kittens from being born as an unplanned or unwanted litter means the prevention of the potential suffering and untimely deaths of generations more.  If you want to help me with my venture, you can chip in and together we can help even more homeless dogs and cats!  Just come to Earth Pets and make a donation earmarked for “puppy & kitten season” and I’ll add it to the ones I’m making each month.

To learn more about the good things being done over at Operation Petsnip or to make a donation directly to them, visit their site at www.nmhp.net/OperationPetSnip

Thanks for reading my post.  I hope it inspires you to tell someone about the benefits of spay/neuter and how much it can create a better world for homeless pets – especially in the springtime!

~ Joy Drawdy

3 responses to this post.

  1. Thank you so much for helping the community and their pets! Your contribution will greatly help us achieve the goal of ending euthanasia as a means of population control. Our strategy at Operation PetSnip is to provide affordable, accessible and high quality spay and neuter services to everyone regardless of income or residence. Thank you again for being an example to others who love animals. We need every heart to help save lives!
    Sandi

    Reply

  2. Awww! Dad, you’re the BEST! 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by Jerry Drawdy on January 29, 2011 at 7:12 am

    You can count me in! I pledge to help with one treatment of a puppy, and a kitten the next month. Will be by the store soon to drop off my check, and am telling folks here in Bradford county (Starke) all about your plan.

    Joy’s Dad!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

